Derek Barton

Nov 5, 2020

Panhandle State Communications

Derek Barton Selected As The Music Director For The NFSR

Derek Barton, The Voice of the Aggies, has been selected as the Music Director for the National Finals Steer Roping in Mulvane Kansas November 6th and 7th at the Kansas Star Casino Arena and Event Center. The National Finals Steer Roping features the Top 15 Steer Ropers for the year, in the PRCA, competing in 10 go rounds for the PRCA World Champion Steer Roping Title. Barton will provide all sound and music for the main event and also for awards presentations.

University President, Dr. Tim Faltyn stated, “Congratulations to our very own Voice of the Aggie Athletics, Derek Barton. We are so proud of you and for you for this great accomplishment.”

To be selected as Contract Personnel for the National Finals Steer Roping and the National Finals Rodeo, each person chosen, must have worked a required amount of rodeos and performances to be considered. The National Finals Steer Roping selects 2 Announcers, 2 Timers, 1 Secretary, 1 Chute Boss, 1 Music Director and 1 Usher. The PRCA Board of Directors and a selection committee go through the list of eligible PRCA Contract Personnel and make their selection.

Barton said “This is such an amazing honor to be selected for the National Finals Steer Roping. I am so humbled and excited to be a part of this. The Steer Roping is one of my favorite events and I have become good friends with so many of the contestants over the years, so this will be a lot of fun to be able be a part of it. Just have to say Thank you to all of the people and rodeo committees, there are way too many to mention, but I could not have been able to do this job that I love, without all of their help and support.”

More News

University President, Dr. Julie Dinger

Sep 7, 2022

President of Oklahoma’s Only Public HSI, Dr. Julie Dinger, Selected for HACU La Academia

2021 04 26 175624404 1057629311307203 3219230772233845164 n 900

Apr 26, 2021

OPSU Crops Judging Placed 4th at National Contest

AITP winners display their awards: (Bottom Row L to R) Dr. Julie Dinger, Braxton Dain, Firas Ghazouani, Gustavo Sanchez, Amanda Blanton, Grant Sparkman, Kim Tuttle; (Second Row L to R) Tanner Daniel, Steve Martin, Madilyn Rider, Jockson Bilbrey, Stetson Elam, Sean Skipton, Jorge Rosas, Cameron Branch — Courtesy Photo

Oct 31, 2018

Programming Team Proves Successful at Regionals