The annual Deke Latham Memorial Bronc Riding School was held May 9-12 at the Henry C. Hitch Arena in Guymon, Okla. —Photo by Taylor Jacobson

May 31, 2019

Panhandle State Communications

Bronc School Continues Legacy

Goodwell, Okla. — The annual Deke Latham Memorial Bronc Riding School continues to grow the legacy of the red and blue vests of Oklahoma Panhandle State University Rodeo. This year’s school was held May 9-12 at the Henry C. Hitch Arena in Guymon, Okla.

The arena saw a tremendous amount of young talent with 27 students in the Saddle Bronc school and two attending the Dan Etbauer pickup man school. Participants came from 12 different states with one student from Australia.

The cowboys put their skills to the test during a match bronc riding Sunday afternoon, May 12. Tyler Jones of Rector, Ark. won the Steer Bronc Riding. Jaydon Warnke of Des Moines, N.M. won the Novice Bronc Riding with Gus Gaillard of Morse, Texas claiming the win in the Advanced Bronc Riding. Bailey Small of Fall River Mills, Calif. won the Most Improved Student.

Three awards were also given out to current Panhandle State students and rodeo team members at the conclusion of the event on Sunday. Bailey Brown received the Shorty McCloy Award, Tanner Hayes earned the Deke Latham Award, and Jordan Monical earned the Doc Gardner Award.

The level of instruction present at these schools is unsurpassable with a collection of world championships titles, numerous National Finals Rodeo qualifications, and many collegiate titles among the instructors including Robert Etbauer, Billy Etbauer, Dan Etbauer, Craig Latham, Brett Franks, Trell Etbauer, and Shade Etbauer.

Stock for the bronc riding school was provided by McCloy Rodeo along with Frontier Rodeo Company and Wes Kirton. Feed and hay donations were provided by Farmers, Elevator, Texhoma Wheat Growers, Hooker Equity, Guymon Pro Rodeo Committee, and Clay Curtis. The event received additional support from Guymon Convention & Tourism Board.

More News

Dr. Curtis Bensch

Sep 16, 2021

Dr. Curtis Bensch Received NACTA Judging and Student Service Award

Aggie Coat Closet Donation

Dec 7, 2023

OPSU Coat Closet and Food Pantry Receives Donation from Invenergy

Certified Healthy Oklahoma Award

Jun 14, 2023

Panhandle State Business Office Named Silver Certified Healthy Department for 2023