2019 12 09 Murphey Diane 900

Dec 9, 2019

Panhandle State Communications

The Diane Murphey IT Factor Scholarship established

The OPSU Computer Information Systems (CIS) Department recently endowed the Diane Murphey IT Factor Scholarship through the Panhandle State Foundation. This scholarship carries the name of a true OPSU legend. Over the years, the name Diane Murphey has become synonymous with the OPSU CIS program. During Diane’s career at OPSU, she has served as a CIS faculty member, Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) Advisor, Dean of the School of Business and Technology, and Vice-President of Academic Affairs. Now that Diane is retired, she serves as President of the Panhandle State Association of Alumni and Friends. This scholarship bears her name in honor of her continued dedication to the success of the OPSU CIS Program.
In 1982, Diane Murphey was hired by President Tom Palmer to develop a Computer Information Systems program at OPSU. The CIS program she started has grown into a well-respected and highly recommended program and the proof is literally on the wall. The walls of Carter Hall on the OPSU campus are lined with plaques for regional, state, and national championships that were won over the years by CIS students. Remarkably, those awards are continuing to accumulate. The Computer Information Systems program has proven itself successful and continues that success to this day. Diane has had many partners helping her in this journey including Pamela Nelson Fahrendorf, Matt Carter, Steve Martin, Mindy Davis, Joe Breeden, Vicki Pasque, and Kim (Tuttle) Smith. Being a part of the OPSU CIS program was an opportunity that changed Diane’s life and since has influenced the lives of countless CIS graduates who are now immersed in local and national businesses, government offices, and public schools.
The Diane Murphey IT Factor Scholarship will be available to OPSU sophomores or above who are a CIS major with a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5. Preference will be given to students on the OPSU programming team or in COBT clubs or activities. A letter of recommendation from an OPSU CIS faculty member is required. The Diane Murphey IT Factor Scholarship will be available each year through the Panhandle State
Foundation Scholarship Program. Applications for 2020-2021 Panhandle State Foundation scholarships will be accepted from December 1, 2019 through February 14, 2020. Visit the Panhandle State Foundation webpage at www.opsu.edu for more information.

More News

Shawn Joy

Oct 3, 2022

Panhandle State Alumni Association Names New Director of Alumni Relations

Jun 18, 2021

OPSU Closes for Recognition of Juneteenth National Independence Day

Foundation Sees Success

Sep 20, 2023

Foundation Sees Success In The New Year