Mr. and Miss Panhandle State - 9.18.19 - 7PM - Centennial Theatre

Sep 17, 2019

Panhandle State Communications

Mr. and Miss Panhandle State Scholarship Competition

Goodwell, Okla. — Reignited in the Fall of 2018, Mr. and Miss Panhandle State is a Scholarship Competition hosted by OPSU’s Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) business club. This event is sponsored by the Student Government Association, under the direction of Kim Smith, faculty member on campus. Any full-time Panhandle State student with 30+ credit hours and a GPA of 2.5 or higher had the opportunity to apply for the competition.

Candidates for both categories are listed including classification, major, and hometown:

Mr. Panhandle State Candidates:

  • Zion Byrd, Junior, Psychology, Cedar Hill, TX
  • Jake Hawkins, Senior, Business Finance, Holcomb, KS
  • Brett Munsch, Senior, Animal Science, Boise City, OK

Miss Panhandle State Candidates:

  • Daniela Abatti, Senior, Animal Science, El Centro, CA
  • Lara Allen, Junior, Ag Education, Cushing, OK
  • Samantha Allum, Senior, History, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Payton Cruzan, Junior, Biology, Guymon, OK
  • Veronica Escalera, Junior, History, Texhoma, OK
  • Lupita Jimenez, Sophomore, Business, Guymon, OK
  • Stacy Jimenez, Sophomore, Biology, Adams, OK
  • Kali Kenny, Sophomore, Health and Physical Education, Ulysses, KS
  • MacKenzie Leach, Junior, Ag Education, Amarillo, TX
  • Madison Reed, Junior, Ag Business, Sidney, NE
  • Calie Rutherford, Junior, Business, Dalhart, TX
  • Brittany-Lee Smith, Senior, Biology & Chemistry, Mineral Wells, TX
  • Sarah Wood, Senior, Agronomy, Hutchinson, KS

The Mr. and Miss Panhandle State Scholarship Competition seeks to select well-rounded college students to represent the university at various events for a one-year. Both winners will be chosen through five distinct categories of judging: Resume (25%) Interview (25%) On-stage Question (20%) Casual Wear (15%) and Evening Wear (15%). Each of these categories was carefully selected, not only to help identify an amazing Panhandle State representative, but also to prepare the candidates for real world experiences after college.

The winners will receive a $2,000 scholarship and the opportunity to represent Panhandle State University at numerous events throughout the next year.

The scholarship competition brings in judges from the local and surrounding communities to help select the new titleholders. On deck to judge this year’s competition is Vicki Freeman, Virgil Gibson, Susan Barias and Micheal Shannon.

Please join us on Wednesday, September 18th at 7 p.m. in Centennial Theatre for this exciting compeition. This event is free and open to the public.

Outgoing Miss Panhandle State, Hannah Johnson will be present to crown the new titleholders Wednesday night.

More News

Jan 19, 2023

Panhandle State RN to BSN Program Earns Top Rankings

It was a full house for the 109th Commencement Ceremony at Panhandle State held May 9, 2019. —Photo by A.J. Ingo

May 13, 2019

Congratulations to the Class of 2019!

Mike Frey (left) with the Oklahoma Angus Association presents Gwen and Jerry Martin with the Mr. Oklahoma Angus Award. —Photo courtesy Oklahoma Angus Association

Apr 11, 2019

Jerry and Gwen Martin Receive Mr. Oklahoma Angus Award