A number of graduates were recognized during the annual Ag Banquet in honor of their academic accomplishments. Alicia Allen (center) is pictured here with Dean Shawna Tucker (left) and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Julie Dinger (right). —Photo by Hannah Haase

May 15, 2019

Panhandle State Communications

Ag Students Honored at Annual Banquet

Goodwell, Okla. — The annual Agriculture Awards Banquet for Oklahoma Panhandle State University Agriculture students was Wednesday, May 8, 2019, at 7 p.m. at the Oklahoma Panhandle Research and Extension Center.

Dean of the College of Agriculture, Science, and Nursing Shawna Tucker welcomed the students and their guests. University President Dr. Tim Faltyn addressed the group followed by an Invocation by senior Kaylee Smith. Dinner was served by Hunny’s of Guymon, Okla.

Departmental awards were given to outstanding students in each area of the Agriculture department.

Agronomy- Allison Jones

Ag Education- Alicia Allen Carpenter

Agribusiness- Sequoia Smith

Animal Science- Sidney Tigler

Recognition was given to the students graduating with honors and a degree in Agriculture in the Class of 2019. Students must have a 3.5 to 3.74 grade-point average (GPA) to graduate cum laude, 3.75 to 3.99 GPA to graduate magna cum laude, and a 4.0 GPA to graduate summa cum laude.


Kathleen Johnson, cum laude

Reagan Schlochtermeier, cum laude

Sequoia Smith, cum laude

Agricultural Education:

Alicia Allen, magna cum laude

Sydney Dougherty, magna cum laude

Chelsea Lewis, cum laude


Allison Jones, magna cum laude

John Paul Kain, cum laude

Kierra Smartt, cum laude

Animal Science:                                                                                                         

Kyra Cathcart, cum laude

Hannah Hammack, cum laude

Philip Kirongo, cum laude

Kaylee Smith, summa cum laude

Sequoia Smith, cum laude

Sidney Tigler, magna cum laude

Shayla Walker, magna cum laude

Members of the Agriculture department’s teams and clubs were recognized including: Crops Judging team, Animal Science Judging Team, Equestrian Team, Alpha Zeta, and Collegiate FFA.

The event was sponsored by the College of Agriculture, Science, & Nursing; Student Senate, and Alpha Zeta.

More News

Apr 25, 2019

The Livestock Judging Team Keeps it Moving

Katie Robertson and Johanna Mergelman

Jul 20, 2022

OPSU Meat Lab Awarded Overall Champions in Iowa

Anchor D recently received the Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award. —Courtesy photo

Apr 9, 2018

Anchor D Receives Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award