Anchor D recently received the Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award. —Courtesy photo

Apr 9, 2018

Panhandle State Communications

Anchor D Receives Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award

Goodwell, Okla. — Twenty-seven business and higher education partnerships throughout the state were recently recognized as innovative collaborations that further the education of Oklahoma’s workforce.

A historic partner with Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Anchor D Bank, formerly The First National Bank of Texhoma, was established Feb. 22, 1906. Panhandle State’s Aggie Athletics will soon see facility upgrades at both the football stadium and the basketball arena thanks to the largest single gift in Aggie Athletic history, courtesy of Anchor D Bank. Anchor D is a closely held, family-owned bank with quality service as the focus of the organization. The name reflects an area ranch founded in 1878 with headquarters in Texhoma, Goodwell, and Guymon matching the modern locations of the bank offices. The partnership will allow Panhandle State to modernize the football stadium, creating a multi-use athletic facility for both football and soccer, which opens the door to add a soccer program at Panhandle State. It also allows for the facility to be shared with Goodwell High School, offering students at all levels the opportunity to play in a modern facility. Both the stadium and the arena are expected to see scoreboard upgrades.

“The Freeman family has been a blessing to this university for many years, and we are honored to put their name on the stadium and arena,” said Panhandle State President Dr. Tim Faltyn.

The Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education’s Regents Business Partnership Excellence Award is designed to highlight successful partnerships between higher education institutions and businesses and to further cultivate the higher learning environment through State Regents’ Economic Development Grants.

More News

Sarah Brady, a double major in Agriculture Education and Elementary Education, was named the J.R.P. Sewell award winner at the Panhandle State Commencement Ceremony on May 10th. The award was established in 1949 in memory of the late J.R.P. Sewell. —Photo by Danae Moore

May 15, 2018

Sarah Brady Named J.R.P. Sewell Award Winner

Left to right: Luis Morales, Maxine Henderson, Kacie Johnson, Carlie Murley, and Dr. Traficante —Courtesy photo

Jan 29, 2018

Students Selected for Honor Band

Feb 20, 2018

Storm Spotter Training Set For Tonight!