Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Four Aggies Earn Spots on SAC All-Conference Rosters

Released by Panhandle State Sports Information on 02/28/2018

Goodwell, Okla.—On the heels of two successful seasons, the Panhandle State men's and women's basketball teams received recognition with four players named to the Sooner Athletic Conference's 2017-18 All-Conference Teams.

The Aggie women boasted two players on the SAC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team. Senior Madison Dearmin earned a spot on the Second Team and Addison Munsch was named as an Honorable Mention athlete. Dearmin finished her college career as the team's leading rebounder with 223 boards over 26 starts. The Balko, Okla. native averaged 8.6 rebounds per game to land second in the conference ranks; also sits second in defensive rebounds per game, averaging 6.12 for the season. With 363 total points, Dearmin finished tenth in the SAC for scoring per game (13.96). Shooting 83 percent from the line, she earned a fourth-place spot within the conference and ranks seventh in the nation for Free Throw Percentage. Dearmin also totaled nine double-doubles on the year to rank second in the SAC.

Munsch's sophomore season showed she is clearly stepping into a leadership position on the team. As the Aggies' leading scorer, Munsch hauled in 407 points for Panhandle State over 26 starts. She led the team in minutes played, averaging 34.8 minutes per game and was the team leader at the line totaling 119 points in free throws. The Boise City native holds three top-ten spots within the conference ranks including No. 4 for scoring (407), No. 5 for scoring per game (15.65) and No. 9 for Field Goal Percentage (.422).

Head Coach Victor Esparza is proud of his players' accomplishments stating, "Madison Dearmin and Addison Munsch are both well-deserving of these honors. They both had great years and carried our team throughout the season. With team success comes individual success. It's not only a great credit to these two young women, but to our whole team."

For the men's team, junior Jace Kerr was listed as a Third Team member and teammate Jaedon Whitfield, a sophomore, earned Honorable Mention recognition. Both Kerr and Whitfield finished their seasons at the top of the charts, combining for 11 individual rankings within the top-ten of Sooner Athletic Conference standings. Kerr led the Aggies in Field Goal Percentage, shooting over 49 percent for the season, and in Free Throw Percentage, going 136-167 at the line for an 81.5 percent average. He ranked seventh and respectively within the SAC in both categories and sits sixth in Scoring with a total of 441 points. The Forgan, Okla. native was the team leader in Scoring per Game, averaging 22 points per game; this earned him a second-place spot in the conference ranks and a No. 7 national ranking.

Originally from Boise City, Whitfield was a force on both ends of the court this year, claiming four No. 1 positions on the conference charts and three top-three spots nationally. Whitfield boasted 17 double-doubles on the season, emerging as the conference leader in that statistic. His effort at the boards brought in three No. 1 spots within the Sooner Athletic Conference for Total Rebounds per Game (12.88), Total Rebounds (309) and Defensive Rebounds per Game (11.13). Whitfield ended his sophomore season as the nation's leader in both Total Rebounds per Game and Defensive Rebounds per Game; he ranks third in the nation among NAIA Division I athletes for Total Rebounds. On defense, he finished ninth in the conference for Blocks (19) and Block per Game (.79) and offensively finished tenth in the SAC for Field Goal Percentage averaging .473 for the season.

Jerry Olson, Head Coach for men's basketball, commented, "Both of these players took our team to another level this year. Jaedon's performance at the boards was unmatched and deserving of an All-Conference roster spot. Jace was consistently there to make the shots when we needed them, and our entire team felt his absence during the eight-game stretch he missed due to injury. I'm genuinely proud of both of these guys and our entire team for the success we shared this year."

Congratulations to Madison Dearmin, Addison Munsch, Jace Kerr, Jaedon Whitfield and both Aggie Basketball programs for their outstanding accomplishments throughout the 2017-18 seasons; and to the players, coaches and staff for their successes on and off the court.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Men's Rodeo Wins Consecutive National Championship

The Panhandle State Men's Rodeo team secured the University's second consecutive National Title on Saturday night, June 16th at the CNFR in Casper, Wyo. This championship took the University's tally to seven with previous titles in 1997, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2013, 2017, and now 2018. —Photo by Dan Hubbell

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Deborah Ask

Deborah Ask —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Higgins, Heathington Selected to 2018 Sooner Athletic Conference All-Academic Golf Team

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Tito Aznar

Tito Aznar —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Baseball, Softball Yield Fourteen Athletes on 2018 SAC All-Academic Team

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Josh Gordon

Josh Gordon —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Jewell Lee Earns All-America and All-Region Honors

Image Rotator

Bolton and Ibarra Named NAIA Softball Scholar-Athletes

Image Rotator

2018-19 Aggie Cheer Team Announced

Image Rotator

Ag Students Recognized at Annual Awards Banquet

Tyler Meyeres (center) was named the Outstanding Agronomy Department student. She is pictured here with Agronomy Department Head Dr. Curtis Bensch (left) and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs Dr. Julie Dinger (right). —Photo by Taylor Jacobson

Image Rotator

Derek Barton Signs on with Panhandle State as “Voice of the Aggies”

Image Rotator

Sarah Brady Named J.R.P. Sewell Award Winner

Sarah Brady, a double major in Agriculture Education and Elementary Education, was named the J.R.P. Sewell award winner at the Panhandle State Commencement Ceremony on May 10th. The award was established in 1949 in memory of the late J.R.P. Sewell. —Photo by Danae Moore