Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Johnson Receives Honorary State FFA Degree

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 06/05/2017 Dr. Sandol Johnson received the Honorary State FFA Degree at the 2017 State FFA Convention in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy PhotoDr. Sandol Johnson received the Honorary State FFA Degree at the 2017 State FFA Convention in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy Photo

Goodwell, Okla. — Dr. Sandol Johnson, Head of the Oklahoma Panhandle State University Animal Science Department, received the Honorary State FFA Degree at the 2017 State FFA Convention in Oklahoma City on May 2. The award is the highest honorary award presented by the FFA at the state level in recognition of support and service.

Dr. Johnson has worked closely with several FFA chapters during her 15 years at Panhandle State. She has assisted with numerous Meat Judging Contests and workouts, Livestock Judging Contests and workouts, and Live Animal Evaluation Contests. She has also been very involved with the Pork Carcass Evaluation with the Texas County Fair and the Texas County Stock Show. She has harvested and evaluated the carcasses for the FFA and 4-H students.

She said, “During my years at OPSU, I have had a close working relationship with the area FFA chapters. Guymon FFA nominated me for this award. They have been tremendous help to me as well during the years.”

Dr. Johnson continued, “It means a great deal to me, because I have always been a strong supporter of youth ag groups, FFA, and 4-H. To be recognized for this work is very heartfelt.”

Panhandle State Dean of Agriculture Dr. Peter Camfield said, “Dr. Johnson is very deserving of this award. She works closely with area FFA and 4-H organizations. It is an honor for the School of Agriculture to have a faculty member receive such an award.”

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Staff Association Making a Difference

The Panhandle State Staff Association: (left to right) Rene Ramon, Karina Jauregui, Raelee Olson, Abby Rice, Nikki Stork, Calandra Rose, Rantz Trayler, Tammy Clark, Amber Fesmire, and Bonnie Maille. Not pictured: Emma Montoya.

Image Rotator

PTCI Partnership

PTCI is an outstanding local partner with Panhandle State.

Image Rotator

Rodeo Alumni Continue Winning Tradition

Shade Etbauer won the 2017 Resistol Rookie of the Year in the saddle bronc riding. The Goodwell native won $41,725 his first year as a cardholder, almost $12,000 more than the rest of the field of rookies. —Photo by Shelbie Weeder

Image Rotator

Clement Named to 2017 All-OSN Volleyball Team

Image Rotator

Regier and Dearmin Dominate for SAC Victory over Texas Wesleyan

Junior Monti Regier led the Aggie women's basketball team with 22 points in their first SAC victory of the season over Texas Wesleyan.-Rylee Higgins photo

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Sarah Brady

Sarah Brady —Photo Courtesy Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Centennial Theatre Success with Nobody Cries in This Play

The cast members of Nobody Cries in This Play take a bow after one of the three successful performances in Centennial Theatre. —Photo by Maxine Henderson

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Dr. Beverly Meyer

Dr. Beverly Meyer —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Professor David Miller Student Lounge Dedicated

Dr. Blanton, Dr. Dinger, Davin Winger, Dr. Faltyn, Lester Miller and Rose Miller pause for a photo at the David Miller Student Lounge. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Laura Duran

Laura Duran —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Bryant Inducted into Higher Education Hall of Fame

Former University President Dr. David Bryant (left) joined with current President Dr. Tim Faltyn (right). —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Jack Strain

Jack Strain —Courtesy photo