Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Students Honored at Ag Banquet

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 05/25/2017 Kymberly Williams of Gruver, Texas was named the outstanding Pre-Vet student at the annual Ag Banquet on May 19. —Photo by Sarah BradyKymberly Williams of Gruver, Texas was named the outstanding Pre-Vet student at the annual Ag Banquet on May 19. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Goodwell, Okla. — The 2017 Oklahoma Panhandle State University Agriculture Awards Banquet was held May 19 at 7 p.m. at the Oklahoma Panhandle Research and Extension Center.

Dr. Curtis Bensch, Agronomy Department Head, welcomed the students and their guests followed by remarks from Panhandle State President Dr. Tim Faltyn. 2017 graduate Cody Fischer gave the invocation and those in attendance enjoyed a delicious meal catered by Hunny’s of Guymon, Okla.

Departmental awards were given to an outstanding student in each of the following areas including: Agronomy, Ag Education, Agribusiness, Animal Science, and Pre-Vet.
Agronomy- Cody Fischer of Hooker, Okla.
Ag Education- Christopher Johnson of Fort Supply, Okla.
Agribusiness- Kaylee Burnett of Eden, Wyo.
Animal Science- Lori Miller of Cleo Springs, Okla.
Pre-Vet- Kymberly Williams of Gruver, Texas

A number of the nearly 65 graduates from the School of Agriculture Class of 2017 were recognized for graduating with honors. Students must have a 3.5 to 3.74 grade-point average (GPA) to graduate cum laude, 3.75 to 3.99 GPA to graduate magna cum laude, and a 4.0 GPA to graduate summa cum laude.
Sierra Burleson, cum laude
Kaylee Burnett, magna cum laude
Tyler Hall, cum laude
Kayce Ingram, magna cum laude
Dakota Lamb, cum laude
Logan Patterson, magna cum laude
Samantha Prather, cum laude
Sherelle Shuck, cum laude
Agriculture Education:
Justin Lenox, cum laude
Daniel Ber, cum laude
Cody Fischer, summa cum laude
Animal Science:
Kaylee Burnett, magna cum laude
Logan Hernandez, summa cum laude
Kayce Ingram, magna cum laude
Lori Miller, cum laude
Tate Mitchell, cum laude
Kymberly Williams, cum laude

Recognition was also given to members of the Panhandle State Agriculture department’s teams and clubs including: the Crops Judging team, Alpha Zeta, Collegiate FFA, Block and Bridle, and Women in Agriculture.

Closing remarks were given by Dr. Curtis Bensch.

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Staff Association Making a Difference

The Panhandle State Staff Association: (left to right) Rene Ramon, Karina Jauregui, Raelee Olson, Abby Rice, Nikki Stork, Calandra Rose, Rantz Trayler, Tammy Clark, Amber Fesmire, and Bonnie Maille. Not pictured: Emma Montoya.

Image Rotator

PTCI Partnership

PTCI is an outstanding local partner with Panhandle State.

Image Rotator

Rodeo Alumni Continue Winning Tradition

Shade Etbauer won the 2017 Resistol Rookie of the Year in the saddle bronc riding. The Goodwell native won $41,725 his first year as a cardholder, almost $12,000 more than the rest of the field of rookies. —Photo by Shelbie Weeder

Image Rotator

Clement Named to 2017 All-OSN Volleyball Team

Image Rotator

Regier and Dearmin Dominate for SAC Victory over Texas Wesleyan

Junior Monti Regier led the Aggie women's basketball team with 22 points in their first SAC victory of the season over Texas Wesleyan.-Rylee Higgins photo

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Sarah Brady

Sarah Brady —Photo Courtesy Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Centennial Theatre Success with Nobody Cries in This Play

The cast members of Nobody Cries in This Play take a bow after one of the three successful performances in Centennial Theatre. —Photo by Maxine Henderson

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Dr. Beverly Meyer

Dr. Beverly Meyer —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Professor David Miller Student Lounge Dedicated

Dr. Blanton, Dr. Dinger, Davin Winger, Dr. Faltyn, Lester Miller and Rose Miller pause for a photo at the David Miller Student Lounge. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Laura Duran

Laura Duran —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Bryant Inducted into Higher Education Hall of Fame

Former University President Dr. David Bryant (left) joined with current President Dr. Tim Faltyn (right). —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Jack Strain

Jack Strain —Courtesy photo