Pinning Ceremony Honors Nursing Graduates

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 05/25/2017 A special Pinning Ceremony was held May 20th on the Panhandle State campus. —Photo by Danae MooreA special Pinning Ceremony was held May 20th on the Panhandle State campus. —Photo by Danae Moore

Goodwell, Okla. — The Class of 2017 Associate of Applied Science in Nursing graduates were joined by family and friends for a special Pinning Ceremony on Saturday, May 20 at 1 p.m. in the Science and Agriculture Building on the Oklahoma Panhandle State University campus. The Spring 2017 Nurse Science graduates include Tayler Clubb of Balko, Okla.; Annawynn Drury of Hofen, Germany; Richelle Macalindong of Elkhart, Kan.; and Samantha Prather of Boise City, Okla.

Drury welcomed everyone to the ceremony and gave the invocation. Panhandle State President Dr. Tim Faltyn gave a welcome on behalf of the University and thanked the graduates for their hard work. Dr. Joey Fronheiser, Vice President of Academic Affairs at OSU- Oklahoma City, and Dr. Mary Malaska, Division Head Health Sciences at OSU- Oklahoma City, both brought greetings as well.

Laughter and tears filled the room as the graduates got the opportunity to honor those most important to them in attendance during a rose ceremony and continued as each graduate gave a speech. Drury addressed the class saying, “I am surrounded by greatness in you all and I’m excited to find my own greatness.” Susan Radcliffe, Nurse Science Faculty, led the Presentation of Pins and each graduate was pinned by someone special to them.

The graduates recited The Florence Nightingale Pledge and the Nurses’s Prayer before the closing remarks.

The Associate of Applied Science degree in Nursing program is made possible through a partnership between Panhandle State and Oklahoma State University-Oklahoma City (OSU-OKC). Since it began in 1996, the program has produced over 170 graduates.

Special thanks and recognition to the OSU-OKC Administration and the following Health Sciences Scholarship Providers: Chris Pitts, Dr. Lois Salmeron, Barbara Statum, Larry Love, Deaconess Auxiliary, Laverne Aldridge, Nancy Hall, Lois Faye May, and Tracy L. Harris.

Best wishes to the 2017 Associate of Applied Science in Nursing graduates!

We Are Panhandle

Image Rotator

Johnson Receives Honorary State FFA Degree

Dr. Sandol Johnson received the Honorary State FFA Degree at the 2017 State FFA Convention in Oklahoma City. —Courtesy Photo

Image Rotator

Education Graduates Honored at Convocation

School of Education graduates were honored at the recent Education Convocation on campus. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Image Rotator

Pinning Ceremony Honors Nursing Graduates

A special Pinning Ceremony was held May 20th on the Panhandle State campus. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Students Honored at Ag Banquet

Kymberly Williams of Gruver, Texas was named the outstanding Pre-Vet student at the annual Ag Banquet on May 19. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Image Rotator

Congratulations to the Panhandle State Class of 2017

The Oklahoma Panhandle State University Commencement Ceremony was Saturday, May 20th. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Image Rotator

Heathington, Buchanan, Frost Named Aggie Athletes of the Year

Congratulations to Madison Heathington (softball), Randi Buchanan (rodeo) and Joe Frost (rodeo) for their selection as the 2017 Aggie Athletes of the Year.

Image Rotator

Staff Highlight: Abby Rice

Abby Rice —Photo Courtesy Panhandle State Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Athletes Honored at Chi Alpha Sigma Banquet

The 2017 class of inductees and graduating seniors for Chi Alpha Sigma joined with University President Dr. Tim Faltyn (back right).—Sarah Brady photo

Image Rotator

Aggie Football Families Recognized at Main Street Oklahoma Event

From left: Head Coach Russell Gaskamp, and players Braylon Chandler, Eddie Thomas and Nate Leota are joined by Rep. Casey Murdock at the 2017 Main Street Oklahoma Awards Banquet. —Justine Gaskamp photo

Image Rotator

A Night of Celebration for Aggie Athletics

Panhandle State alumnus and Aggie Hall of Fame inductee Mario Mendoza of Turpin, Okla. served as the guest speaker at the 2017 Aggie Athletic Banquet.—Sarah Brady photo