Skip to main content
Skip menu links

Education Graduates Honored at Convocation

Released by Panhandle State Campus Communications on 05/25/2017 School of Education graduates were honored at the recent Education Convocation on campus. —Photo by Sarah BradySchool of Education graduates were honored at the recent Education Convocation on campus. —Photo by Sarah Brady

Goodwell, Okla. — Graduates from the Oklahoma Panhandle State University School of Education were honored during a Convocation Ceremony on Friday, May 19 at 3 p.m. in Hughes Strong Hall.

Panhandle State President Dr. Tim Faltyn addressed the graduates following Ode to Joy played by Carol Hill, Panhandle State’s Purchasing Director. Dr. Faltyn encouraged the graduates as he said they are the future.

Dean of Education Dr. Wayne Stewart presented the Class of 2016-2017. The Elementary Education graduates include Angelique Archer of Perryton, Texas; Kaci Bell of Lakin, Kan.; Trina Burke of Texhoma, Okla.; Kaylee Carroll of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Danielle Gonzalez of El Paso, Texas; Madison Heathington of Highland Village, Texas; Ashley Knier of Hugoton, Kan.; Amairany Pena of Guymon, Okla.; Christina Rodriguez of Ulysses, Kan.; Cristal Ruiz of Booker, Okla.; Vanessa Solis of Garden City, Kan.; and Mercedes Trenary of Salida, Colo. The Agriculture Education graduates include Christopher Johnson of Fort Supply, Okla. and Justin Lenox of Eads, Colo.

Closing remarks were given by Dr. Wayne Stewart and following a postlude by Carol Hill, a reception was held.

Dean Stewart said, “I always look forward to this ceremony. Seeing the quality teachers that we produce being recognized for their efforts and hard work is a reflection, not only on their labors and determination, but also the dedication and resolve of the education faculty and the public school teachers and administrators who are a part of the process. I know these graduates will make a difference in the world—one student at a time.”

We Are Panhandle We Are Panhandle!

Image Rotator

Staff Association Making a Difference

The Panhandle State Staff Association: (left to right) Rene Ramon, Karina Jauregui, Raelee Olson, Abby Rice, Nikki Stork, Calandra Rose, Rantz Trayler, Tammy Clark, Amber Fesmire, and Bonnie Maille. Not pictured: Emma Montoya.

Image Rotator

PTCI Partnership

PTCI is an outstanding local partner with Panhandle State.

Image Rotator

Rodeo Alumni Continue Winning Tradition

Shade Etbauer won the 2017 Resistol Rookie of the Year in the saddle bronc riding. The Goodwell native won $41,725 his first year as a cardholder, almost $12,000 more than the rest of the field of rookies. —Photo by Shelbie Weeder

Image Rotator

Clement Named to 2017 All-OSN Volleyball Team

Image Rotator

Regier and Dearmin Dominate for SAC Victory over Texas Wesleyan

Junior Monti Regier led the Aggie women's basketball team with 22 points in their first SAC victory of the season over Texas Wesleyan.-Rylee Higgins photo

Image Rotator

Student Spotlight: Sarah Brady

Sarah Brady —Photo Courtesy Campus Communications

Image Rotator

Centennial Theatre Success with Nobody Cries in This Play

The cast members of Nobody Cries in This Play take a bow after one of the three successful performances in Centennial Theatre. —Photo by Maxine Henderson

Image Rotator

Faculty Spotlight: Dr. Beverly Meyer

Dr. Beverly Meyer —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Professor David Miller Student Lounge Dedicated

Dr. Blanton, Dr. Dinger, Davin Winger, Dr. Faltyn, Lester Miller and Rose Miller pause for a photo at the David Miller Student Lounge. —Photo by Danae Moore

Image Rotator

Staff Spotlight: Laura Duran

Laura Duran —Photo by Chris Urias

Image Rotator

Bryant Inducted into Higher Education Hall of Fame

Former University President Dr. David Bryant (left) joined with current President Dr. Tim Faltyn (right). —Courtesy photo

Image Rotator

Alumni Spotlight: Jack Strain

Jack Strain —Courtesy photo